Sunday, March 12, 2006

ePortfolios! Who needs them?

From D'Arcy Norman:

Helen Chen posted a notice about an upcoming webcast by Jude Higdon for ADCE about the nature of ePortfolios in an environment where people are already using blogs and social software. The session will be a quasi-interactive Elluminate production.

Who needs an ePortfolio? All my coursework is on my blog…

EPortfolios have been defined in various ways by vendors, professional organizations, and institutions of higher education.
With emerging technologies such as social software that include the ability to freetag and syndicate across multiple resources and environments, the need for standalone ePortfolio “software” is perhaps called into question. This discussion will raise issues regarding the NetGen student, and how she is already using technology that has natural affordances that allow her to collect, aggregate, and syndicate content into portfolio views that can be useful to herself, other students, faculty, departments, colleges and universities, accreditation agencies, funding bodies, and potential employers.

It’s on Friday, March 17th at 11am EST - That's Saturday March 18, 05.00 NZ time, and 03.00 Sydney time. Be there or be square!

simply click on the link provided below and enter your name and affiliation (such as “Helen-Stanford”) on the sign in page.
By the way, I've at long last found a pretty good time zone convertor. It lists EST, GMT etc, and converts to and from most cities.

No comments: